e⚡TruckTCO BE

Home › Specifications › CATL TECTRANS II

CATL · Battery sheets

CATL TECTRANS II

CATL sells TECTRANS II on total cost, not on the battery: 12 years and 1.5 million km with 70 % capacity left, 96 % round-trip efficiency, and 0.6 t more payload for the same energy because the pack is lighter. For a fleet the two figures that move the business case are the payload and the 25-minute megawatt charge; the energy price of a swap, and the price of the pack itself, are still unpublished.

18 of 42 values are filled in. Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it. Correct or complete this sheet

General 5 / 8

ModelWritten TECTRANS II or Tectrans Ⅱ; the first TECTRANS family was shown in 2024TECTRANS II↗ ↗
What it isNot a single pack but a platform of standardised packs the truck maker combinesModular traction battery platform for battery-electric commercial vehicles: heavy-duty trucks, medium-duty trucks and buses↗ ↗
FormPack, module, rack, cabinet or containerStandardised packs, in several housing formats↗ ↗
AnnouncedPress day of IAA TRANSPORTATION 202614 September 2026, Hanover↗ ↗
IAA Transportation 2026Hall and stand not given in any of the releases readLaunched at the show, Hanover, 14-20 September 2026↗ ↗
Availability in EuropeNo start of production, no delivery date and no first customer publishednot published
List priceNot publishednot published
WarrantyNo warranty published. CATL gives a design service life instead: 12 years, 1.5 million km, 70 % capacity left (see Energy and power)not published

Energy and power 3 / 10

Capacity, grossNot published. Capacity follows from how many standardised packs the truck maker fitsnot published
Capacity, usableNot publishednot published
VoltageNot publishednot published
Charge powerCATL says megawatt-level fast charging but gives no kW or A figurenot published
Discharge powerNot publishednot published
Charge rateNot publishednot published
Charge timeTo 80 % on megawatt-level charging; CATL does not say from what state of charge25 min↗ ↗ ↗
CyclesNot published as a cycle count; given as 1.5 million km over 12 years with 70 % capacity leftnot published
EfficiencyRound-trip efficiency, which CATL credits to a full-tab, low-impedance cell96 %↗ ↗ ↗
LifeDesign service life for the heavy-duty truck configuration, together with 1.5 million km and 70 % capacity retention. A separate 15-year corrosion rating is given for coastal and cold regions12 years↗ ↗ ↗

Cells and build 4 / 8

ChemistryNot published. electrive writes that the platform is expected to carry both LFP and NMC cells, which CATL has not confirmednot published
Cell formatCATL's own wording; prismatic, pouch or cylindrical is not statedFull-tab, low-impedance cell↗ ↗
Cell supplierCATL makes its own cellsCATL↗
ArchitecturePublished structural figures for the enclosure: up to 250 kN lateral crush resistance, 1,000 J bottom-plate impact protection, a steel top cover that takes a 180 kg adult 10,000 times without deforming, and a 15-year corrosion ratingModular: standardised packs combined in different numbers, in an extruded-aluminium enclosure, with standard interfaces for e-axle and central-drive layouts↗ ↗ ↗
Energy density, by massCATL calls this about 13 % above the industry average, worth roughly 0.6 t more payload at the same capacity170 Wh/kg↗ ↗ ↗
Energy density, by volumeNot publishednot published
MassNot publishednot published
DimensionsNot publishednot published

Thermal and safety 0 / 6

CoolingNot publishednot published
Operating temperatureNot published as a range; CATL gives a 15-year corrosion rating for coastal and cold regionsnot published
ProtectionNot publishednot published
StandardsUN 38.3, R100, IEC 62619 and the like are not named in the launch materialnot published
Thermal runaway containmentNot published. The safety claims CATL does make are mechanical: crush, impact and corrosion (see Architecture)not published
Battery managementNot publishednot published

In a truck 3 / 6

Which trucks use itNo truck maker has been named for TECTRANS II. CATL says more than 2 million commercial vehicles worldwide run on its batteries and that it held 44 % of the Chinese commercial-vehicle battery market in the first half of 2026not published
MountingCATL claims a truck maker can cut development time by 50 % and R&D cost by 60-70 % by building on the platformUnderbody or roof, in several housing formats; fits both e-axle and central-drive layouts↗ ↗ ↗
Battery swappingThe platform switches between plug-in charging and swapping. CATL announced a European swapping network with Octopus Energy and signed a letter of intent with DHL Group covering swapping systems, storage and ultra-fast charging on Green Freight Corridorsyes↗ ↗
Range it gives a truckCATL's top figure, for a heavy truck with the full number of packs. No test cycle and no vehicle weight named1000 km↗ ↗ ↗
Second lifeNot published for this platform; the DHL letter of intent mentions stationary storagenot published
RecyclingNot publishednot published

Company 3 / 4

CompanyAs the release names itCATL (Contemporary Amperex Technology Co., Limited)↗
HeadquartersNot stated in the sources read for this sheetnot published
Websitecatl.com↗
ContactQuoted in the launch releaseZhu Lingbo, CTO of CATL's global business unit↗ ↗

Where these figures come from

Other battery sheets