Home › Specifications › EVE Energy Open Source Battery 4.0
EVE Energy · Battery sheets
EVE Energy Open Source Battery 4.0
A tonne less battery weight is a tonne more payload, and 4,500 cycles is the number that decides whether the pack outlives the truck. EVE's cold-weather claim matters for northern fleets: more than 90 % of the energy at −30 °C without heating means less winter range loss and less energy spent warming the pack. No price, no voltage and no charging power have been published.
Battery641 kWh
20 of 42 values are filled in.
Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it.
Correct or complete this sheet
General 5 / 8
| ModelGasgoo names the truck system LM815-641 kWh; at the May launch the under-chassis system was given as LM815-640 kWh | Open Source Battery 4.0 (AI Battery), LM815-641 kWh heavy-truck under-chassis system | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| What it isEVE showed the Open Source Battery 3.0 and 4.0 series in Hanover, with the LM815, LM285 and V63 cells and a B3E-LF206S bus system alongside the truck system | Traction battery system for heavy electric trucks | ↗ ↗ |
| FormA rear-mounted 605 kWh version sits in the same family | Pack, under the chassis | ↗ ↗ |
| AnnouncedEuropean debut at IAA TRANSPORTATION 2026 | 9 May 2026 in China, at EVE's second Commercial Vehicle Battery Technology Day | ↗ ↗ |
| IAA Transportation 2026Hall and stand not published in the sources read | European premiere of Open Source Battery 4.0 at the show, Hanover, 14-20 September 2026 | ↗ ↗ |
| Availability in EuropeNo delivery date published. EVE signed cooperation agreements at the show totalling more than 30 GWh | not published | |
| List priceNot published | not published | |
| WarrantyNot published | not published |
Energy and power 2 / 10
| Capacity, grossThe heavy-truck under-chassis system as Gasgoo names it in Hanover. At the May launch the same system was published as 640 kWh, next to a 605 kWh rear-mounted one | 641 kWh | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity, usableNot published | not published | |
| VoltageNot published | not published | |
| Charge powerNot published for the 4.0 truck system | not published | |
| Discharge powerNot published | not published | |
| Charge rateNot published for this system. EVE published 3C, 20-80 % in 15 minutes, for the earlier Open Source Battery shown at IAA 2024 | not published | |
| Charge timeNot published for this system | not published | |
| CyclesPublished for the Open Source Battery 4.0 with the LM815 cell; the end-of-life point is not stated | 4500 | ↗ |
| EfficiencyNot published | not published | |
| LifeNot published | not published |
Cells and build 5 / 8
| ChemistryEVE says the LMX system improves low-temperature behaviour while keeping the safety and stability of lithium iron phosphate | LMX | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Cell formatCapacity of the cell used in the truck system; the LM285 and V63 cells are in the same family. Prismatic, pouch or cylindrical is not stated | LM815, 815 Ah | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Cell supplierEVE makes its own cells | EVE Energy | ↗ ↗ |
| ArchitectureAgainst Open Source Battery 3.0, EVE claims 25 % more structural strength from full-domain foaming and 18 % less system weight from stacking | System stacking with full-domain foaming; an AI chip in the pack senses pressure, temperature and impedance at cell level | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Energy density, by massPublished for the Open Source Battery 4.0 AI series | 215 Wh/kg | ↗ |
| Energy density, by volumeNot published | not published | |
| MassNo weight published. EVE says the system is about one tonne lighter than comparable products on the market, and about 100 kg separates the 605 and 640 kWh versions | not published | |
| DimensionsNot published | not published |
Thermal and safety 3 / 6
| Cooling | Bottom liquid cooling | ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Operating temperatureNo range published; this is the cold-weather claim EVE makes for the 4.0 system | More than 90 % of the energy still available at −30 °C without heating | ↗ ↗ |
| ProtectionNot published | not published | |
| StandardsEVE says the LMX system is tailored to European regulatory requirements, without naming a standard | not published | |
| Thermal runaway containmentNot published | not published | |
| Battery managementEVE describes the result as self-adaptation, self-diagnosis and self-repair | AI chip in the pack for cell-level sensing, real-time diagnosis and optimisation; state-of-charge error below 2 % across the range and fault prediction accuracy above 99 % | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
In a truck 1 / 6
| Which trucks use itNo truck named. At the show EVE signed commercial-vehicle battery agreements totalling more than 30 GWh with BMZ, Janus Electric, Morris Commercial, Sunswap and WEG | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| MountingThe 605 kWh sister system is rear-mounted | Under the chassis | ↗ ↗ |
| Battery swappingNot published for this system. Janus Electric, one of the partners that signed in Hanover, builds swappable truck packs | not published | |
| Range it gives a truckNot published | not published | |
| Second lifeNot published | not published | |
| RecyclingNot published | not published |
Company 4 / 4
Where these figures come from
- Gasgoo, 17 September 2026: At the 2026 IAA Show, EVE Energy Signs Over 30 GWh Commercial Vehicle Battery Orders
- Chinese Truck Review, May 2026: EVE Energy Holds 2nd Commercial-Vehicle Battery Tech Day, Unveils Open-Source Battery 4.0: AI Battery
- LiFePO4 Battery: EVE Energy Launches Open Source Battery 4.0 AI Series for Commercial EVs
- EVE Energy Co., Ltd. (official site)
- IAA TRANSPORTATION 2026, Hanover, 15-20 September 2026 (press day 14 September)
Other battery sheets