e⚡TruckTCO BE

Home › Specifications › FAW Jiefang J6P sodium-ion electric tractor

FAW Jiefang · More electric trucks

FAW Jiefang J6P sodium-ion electric tractor

A test truck, not a model on sale: FAW Jiefang's J6P electric tractor ran more than 15,000 km in China on a 339 kWh sodium-ion battery that keeps over 90 % of its capacity at −40 °C and charges fully in 20 to 25 minutes. For a cost comparison with a diesel almost everything is missing — price, range, consumption, weight and charge power — and no plans for Europe have been announced.

Battery339 kWh
FAW Jiefang J6P sodium-ion electric tractorPhoto: FAW Jiefang
10 of 77 values are filled in. Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it. Correct or complete this sheet

General 2 / 19

ModelFAW Jiefang calls it a J6P new-energy pure electric tractorJ6P battery-electric tractor with a sodium-ion battery (test truck)↗ ↗ ↗
Vehicle typee.g. tractor, rigidBattery-electric heavy tractor unit, used as the test vehicle for a sodium-ion truck battery↗ ↗ ↗
Axle configurationNot stated. The photos FAW Jiefang released of the test trucks show a three-axle tractornot published
Gross combination weightNot publishednot published
Gross vehicle weight, tractornot published
Kerb weight, tractorNot published. electrive notes that sodium-ion packs are heavier and bulkier than lithium-ion packs of the same capacitynot published
Payload, with a standard trailerNot publishednot published
Payload if the Council position on 96/53/EC is adoptednot published
Front / rear axle design loadnot published
Drive-axle load at maximum payloadnot published
Overall length, tractornot published
Overall widthnot published
Overall heightnot published
Wheelbasenot published
Turning radius, minimumnot published
Top speedNot publishednot published
Suspensionnot published
Fifth wheelnot published
Clean-sheet electric design or converted diesel platformnot published

Battery 5 / 9

Battery capacity, installed (gross)A second version with 434 kWh (400 km) is named in secondary coverage only (ChinaEVHome, 15 September)339 kWh↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Battery capacity, usableNot publishednot published
Cell chemistryLFP, NMC …Sodium-ion↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Cell supplierelectrive gives more than 165 Wh/kg at cell level for HiNa's current cells; not stated for this packHiNa Battery↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
System voltageNominalnot published
Pack architecturenot published
Battery life, ratedFAW Jiefang's claimMore than 8,000 cycles under fast charging↗ ↗ ↗
Operating temperature, battery and thermal systemFAW Jiefang aims it at the cold regions of northeast and northwest ChinaMore than 90 % of usable capacity kept at −40 °C↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Battery warrantynot published

Range and energy 1 / 8

Range, as claimedNot publishednot published
Range, favourable conditionsnot published
Range, real-worldnot published
Range test conditionnot published
Energy consumptionNot publishednot published
Test fleet mileageMore than 15,000 km over nearly seven months; the tests also covered bench, reliability, power and hot- and cold-climate trials15000 km↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Drag coefficient (Cd)not published
Regenerative braking, peaknot published

Charging 0 / 6

DC charge portsnot published
Max DC charge powerNot publishednot published
Charge time 20–80 %Not published for 20–80 %. FAW Jiefang says a full charge takes 20 to 25 minutesnot published
Megawatt Charging System (MCS)not published
AC chargingnot published
Vehicle-to-grid / bidirectionalyes / nonot published

Powertrain 0 / 7

Motor layoutNot publishednot published
Continuous powernot published
Peak powernot published
Peak torquenot published
Transmissionnot published
Gradeability, maximumnot published
Acceleration 0–80 km/h at GCWnot published

Safety 0 / 3

Truck safety ratingnot published
Driver assistance (ADAS)not published
Braking and stabilitynot published

Cab and equipment 0 / 5

Cab typenot published
Standard equipmentnot published
Power take-off (ePTO)not published
Driver positionleft, right, centrenot published
Tyresnot published

Service and warranty 0 / 5

Service intervalnot published
Vehicle warrantynot published
Service network in Europenot published
Over-the-air updatesyes / nonot published
Telematics / fleet portalnot published

Production and market 1 / 12

Production / assemblynot published
Key suppliersHiNa Battery (sodium-ion battery)↗ ↗ ↗
First customernot published
Homologation in the EUEU WVTA, national, …not published
Availability in EuropeNot announcednot published
Trucks delivered to datenot published
List price, EuropeNot publishednot published
Lease ratenot published
Maintenance costnot published
Residual value after 5 yearsnot published
Toll and CO₂ classEU CO₂ class 5 = zero-emissionnot published
IAA Transportation 2026Not shown, as far as published. FAW TRUCKS' own report of its IAA 2026 stand (Hall 24, B10; 16 September) names five vehicles and nine core powertrain systems — the CORTRON CS600, CS600 XXL and CS925 tractors and the TL.X concept truck among them — and does not mention this sodium-ion test truck or a sodium-ion batterynot published↗

Company 1 / 3

ManufacturerFAW Jiefang, the truck maker of the state-owned FAW Group, China↗ ↗ ↗
Websitenot published
Sales contactnot published

Where these figures come from

Other more electric trucks