e⚡TruckTCO BE

Home › Specifications › MAXUS eDELIVER 420L

MAXUS (SAIC Motor) · More electric trucks

MAXUS eDELIVER 420L

MAXUS's first heavy electric truck, the eDELIVER 420L, shown in Hanover as a near-production 42-tonne tractor: a 615 kWh CATL battery built to last up to 1.5 million km, 500 kW, megawatt charging at up to 1,310 kW (20 to 80 % in 25 minutes) and an empty weight of 9.8 tonnes. Maxus quotes up to 550 km, but on the WLTP test for cars and vans and without saying at what load, so it says little about a loaded truck on the motorway. For a cost comparison with a diesel the rest is missing: no energy use per km, no price and no date for sales in Europe.

Battery615 kWh
Range550 km
DC charging1310 kW
MAXUS eDELIVER 420LImage: Maxus
39 of 77 values are filled in. Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it. Correct or complete this sheet

General 11 / 19

ModelMaxus writes eDELIVER in capitals, as on the plate in its press photo; electrive writes eDeliver 420LeDELIVER 420L↗ ↗ ↗
Vehicle typeMaxus calls it 'the near-production version of a fully electric 42-tonne truck'Battery-electric tractor unit for long-haul and regional transport, shown as a near-production version↗ ↗
Axle configurationFrom Maxus's data sheet4x2↗
Gross combination weightThe data sheet gives 'gross mass up to 42,000 kg', which for a tractor is the weight of the whole combination. Maxus's previews before the show (nfz-messe.com, 2 September; Sustainable Truck & Van, 4 September) still spoke of a 40-tonne truck42 t↗ ↗ ↗
Gross vehicle weight, tractorNot published for the tractor alone. The data sheet's 'gross mass up to 42,000 kg' is the combination weight (see gross combination weight)not published
Kerb weight, tractorMaxus's data sheet; equipment not stated9800 kg↗
Payload, with a standard trailerNot published with a trailer. The data sheet's 'payload up to 32,200 kg' is the 42,000 kg gross mass minus the 9,800 kg tractor — trailer and load together, so the weight of the semi-trailer still has to come offnot published
Payload if the Council position on 96/53/EC is adoptednot published
Front / rear axle design loadNot publishednot published
Drive-axle load at maximum payloadNot publishednot published
Overall length, tractorTractor alone6310 mm↗
Overall width2550 mm↗
Overall height3960 mm↗
Wheelbase3850 mm↗
Turning radius, minimumnot published
Top speedMaxus's 'maximum speed'; in the EU trucks are limited to 90 km/h120 km/h↗
Suspensionnot published
Fifth wheelnot published
Clean-sheet electric design or converted diesel platformMaxus does not say whether AILink was designed for electric trucks onlyBased on the modular AILink architecture↗

Battery 4 / 9

Battery capacity, installed (gross)Published as a 615 kWh high-voltage battery; Maxus does not say whether that is installed or usable capacity615 kWh↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Battery capacity, usableNot publishednot published
Cell chemistryLFP (lithium iron phosphate)↗
Cell supplierCATL↗ ↗ ↗
System voltageNot publishednot published
Pack architecturecell-to-pack, modules …not published
Battery life, ratedMaxus's design figures, not a warrantyDesigned for up to 1,500,000 km or 4,500 charge cycles↗ ↗
Operating temperature, battery and thermal systemnot published
Battery warrantyNo terms published. Maxus's press kit says fleet customers can get its own warranty packages for vehicle and high-voltage battery (said of the whole range)not published

Range and energy 2 / 8

Range, as claimed'Up to 550 km', combined WLTP range as Maxus gives it. WLTP is the test cycle for cars and vans, not for heavy trucks, and Maxus does not give the load, so this cannot be compared directly with other trucks' ranges. electrive's report of 14 September still said Maxus had not given a range550 km↗ ↗ ↗
Range, favourable conditionsNot publishednot published
Range, real-worldnot published
Range test conditionMaxus's figureWLTP combined; load not stated↗ ↗
Energy consumptionNot publishednot published
Test fleet mileagenot published
Drag coefficient (Cd)not published
Regenerative braking, peakNot published as power. Maxus: 100 % regenerative braking torque, five manual levels through the electric retarder, and an adaptive system that picks the recovery setting from the actual weight and the gradient, recovering up to about 20 % more energy than fixed settings in its own testsnot published

Charging 4 / 6

DC charge portsWhether a CCS inlet is fitted as well is not statedMCS (Megawatt Charging System)↗
Max DC charge powerPeak, published as 'up to 1.31 MW (1,310 kW)'1310 kW↗ ↗
Charge time 20–80 %20–80 % in about 25 minutes with megawatt charging (peak up to 1,310 kW). 60 % of 615 kWh in 25 minutes is about 890 kW on average — a sum, not a Maxus figure25 min↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Megawatt Charging System (MCS)From Maxus's press kitYes, up to 1,310 kW peak↗
AC chargingnot published
Vehicle-to-grid / bidirectionalNot stated for this truck; the bidirectional charging Maxus demonstrates on its stand is aimed at its vans and pick-upsnot published

Powertrain 3 / 7

Motor layoutMaxus: a 'highly integrated dual-motor E-Drive'; with decouplable motors the pull does not drop during gear changesTwo electric motors (2 × 250 kW) that can be decoupled↗ ↗
Continuous powerNot publishednot published
Peak powerMaximum peak output, 680 hp as Maxus gives it500 kW↗ ↗
Peak torqueNot published at the motors. Maxus gives up to 50,000 Nm at the wheels (after the gearing), which cannot be compared with the motor torque on other sheetsnot published
Transmission2-speed automated manual gearbox (AMT)↗
Gradeability, maximumnot published
Acceleration 0–80 km/h at GCWnot published

Safety 3 / 3

Truck safety ratingNot a star rating: ECE R29 is the UN rule on how strong a truck cab must be in a crash, pass or fail; Maxus says the cab was 'digitally certified' to it. No Euro NCAP rating publishedCab built to ECE R29 (version 3.0); in a severe frontal crash it moves up to 500 mm backwards to protect the occupants↗ ↗ ↗
Driver assistance (ADAS)Maxus's claims for the near-production truck; which functions will be offered or allowed in Europe is not said. The Level 4 technology comes from SAIC's automated container trucks at Shanghai's Yangshan port (89 trucks, over 18 million km)Designed for SAE Level 4 automated driving: 254 TOPS computer, 4 lidars (one a 32-line blind-spot lidar), 15 cameras and radar for a 360° view, lane keep assist, driver monitoring↗ ↗
Braking and stabilityKnorr-Bremse GSBC electronic brake control with ABS, ESP and traction control; electro-hydraulic power steering with back-up hardware and software↗

Cab and equipment 3 / 5

Cab typeDay or sleeper cab not statedNewly designed cab with a flat floor (no engine tunnel)↗
Standard equipmentMaxus's figures, measured to ISO/GB standards; standard or optional not stated12.3-inch instrument display, two 15.6-inch touchscreens, AI voice control, modular overhead storage; interior noise 52.5 dB(A) at 40 km/h and 65.0 dB(A) at 80 km/h↗
Power take-off (ePTO)not published
Driver positionleft, right, centrenot published
Tyres315/60 R22.5 on 9 × 22.5-inch alloy wheels↗

Service and warranty 3 / 5

Service intervalnot published
Vehicle warrantyNot publishednot published
Service network in EuropeFor the whole Maxus range, so far vans and pick-ups; not said whether these workshops will take heavy trucks. No figures for other European countriesGermany: 170 service partners by the end of 2026, close to 100 new ones signed by 1 September 2026; imports run by SAIC Motor Deutschland GmbH since 1 September 2026↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Over-the-air updatesYes, through Maxus's cloud fleet services↗
Telematics / fleet portalCloud fleet services: remote diagnostics, truck navigation, driving-behaviour analysis↗

Production and market 4 / 12

Production / assemblyPlant not published; built to the IATF 16949 automotive quality standard↗ ↗
Key suppliersCATL (battery)↗
First customernot published
Homologation in the EUEU WVTA, national, …not published
Availability in EuropeMaxus's press kit calls it a near-production version; neither the kit nor electrive's report of 14 September gives a date. The feedback aim is from Maxus's preview before the show, which still spoke of a 40-tonne truckNo market launch or production start named; shown as a technology preview, to gather feedback from European fleet operators↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Trucks delivered to datenot published
List price, EuropeNot published. The press kit mentions financing and leasing for fleet customers across the range, without figuresnot published
Lease ratenot published
Maintenance costnot published
Residual value after 5 yearsnot published
Toll and CO₂ classEU CO₂ class 5 = zero-emissionnot published
IAA Transportation 2026Maxus's press conference was at 11:30 on the media day. Also on the stand: the eDELIVER 5 chassis cab (world premiere), the T60 diesel pick-up and daily live demonstrations of bidirectional chargingHall 13, Stand E90 (European premiere on the media day, 14 September); shown with the eDELIVER 75 electric 7.5-tonne truck, the RoboVAN self-driving delivery van concept and the model-year 2027 vans and pick-ups↗ ↗ ↗ ↗

Company 2 / 3

ManufacturerMAXUS, a brand of SAIC Motor Corporation Limited (China); in Germany sold through SAIC Motor Deutschland GmbH↗ ↗
WebsiteGlobal site; country sites include maxus.de and maxusmotors.be; press material for the show on maxus-pr.desaicmaxus.com↗
Sales contactnot published

Where these figures come from

Other more electric trucks