Home › Specifications › Foton CAVAN BEACON
Foton (BAIC Foton) · More electric trucks
Foton CAVAN BEACON
Foton's CAVAN BEACON, shown in Europe for the first time in Hanover: the battery-electric 6x4 is claimed at over 600 km and 115 kWh per 100 km (105 for a 4x2), and charges from 20 to 80 % in 18 minutes at a megawatt charger of up to 1.44 MW. That energy figure is where a running-cost comparison with diesel starts, but Foton does not say at what load or speed it was measured, and the rest is missing: no battery size, no weights or payload, no price and no sales date for this truck in Europe. Foton says it already sells in nearly 20 European countries, with more than 300 service outlets, and plans local assembly by 2028.
Range600 km
DC charging1440 kW
Photo: Foton
20 of 77 values are filled in.
Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it.
Correct or complete this sheet
General 4 / 19
| ModelCAVAN is Foton's new-energy brand | CAVAN BEACON | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle typeFoton does not say tractor or rigid; Chinese coverage describes the version launched in China as a tractor (Chinese Truck Review, 22 December 2025). The same platform has hydrogen fuel-cell versions, on gaseous or liquid hydrogen, with over 1,000 km claimed; this sheet is about the battery-electric one | Battery-electric heavy truck for long-haul transport | ↗ |
| Axle configurationFoton gives energy figures for a 6x4 and a 4x2 battery-electric version (15 and 16 September); which layouts come to Europe is not said. This sheet is about the 6x4 | 6x4 | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Gross combination weightNot published by Foton. electrive's preview (9 September) calls earlier battery-electric and hydrogen trucks on this platform 40-tonners | not published | |
| Gross vehicle weight, tractorNot published | not published | |
| Kerb weight, tractorNot published. Chinese coverage of the version launched in China claims it weighs the same as a diesel truck, without a figure | not published | |
| Payload, with a standard trailerNot published | not published | |
| Payload if the Council position on 96/53/EC is adopted | not published | |
| Front / rear axle design loadNot published | not published | |
| Drive-axle load at maximum payloadNot published | not published | |
| Overall length, tractorNot published | not published | |
| Overall widthNot published | not published | |
| Overall heightNot published | not published | |
| WheelbaseNot published | not published | |
| Turning radius, minimum | not published | |
| Top speedEU limiter is 90 | not published | |
| Suspension | not published | |
| Fifth wheel | not published | |
| Clean-sheet electric design or converted diesel platformChinese coverage describes it as designed from the start for electric and hydrogen drives rather than converted from a diesel truck | Its own platform for battery-electric, battery-swap, gaseous-hydrogen and liquid-hydrogen versions, 15 variants in all | ↗ |
Battery 1 / 9
| Battery capacity, installed (gross)Not in Foton's IAA release. Chinese coverage conflicts: 600 kWh for the 2024 concept (Chinese Truck Review, 26 December 2024), packs of 225, 451 and 677 kWh for the version launched in China in December 2025 (Chinese Truck Review, 22 December 2025). Which pack the truck for Europe gets is not known | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity, usableNot published | not published | |
| Cell chemistryNot published | not published | |
| Cell supplierNot published. Foton showed batteries of its own on the stand, and CATL and EVE Energy were there as partners; neither is named for this truck | not published | |
| System voltageNot in Foton's IAA release; Chinese coverage of the version launched in China speaks of an 800 V platform | not published | |
| Pack architecture | A battery-swap version is one of the platform's variants | ↗ |
| Battery life, ratedNot in Foton's IAA release. Chinese coverage of the version launched in China claims 2 million km for the 677 kWh pack | not published | |
| Operating temperature, battery and thermal system | not published | |
| Battery warrantyNot published | not published |
Range and energy 3 / 8
| Range, as claimedPublished as 'more than 600 km' (a 'stated range'), with no load, speed or battery size. Chinese coverage of the 2024 concept said over 500 km. The hydrogen version: over 1,000 km | 600 km | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Range, favourable conditionsNot published | not published | |
| Range, real-world | not published | |
| Range test conditionNot published | not published | |
| Energy consumption'As low as' 115 kWh per 100 km for the 6x4; 105 kWh per 100 km for the 4x2. Foton adds 'depending on configuration and test conditions' without describing them. It credits the low drag, adaptive control and predictive thermal management with 15 % lower energy use, without saying compared with what. Chinese coverage of the 2024 concept said under 110 kWh per 100 km | 1.15 kWh/km | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Test fleet mileage | not published | |
| Drag coefficient (Cd)Foton's figure; Chinese coverage of the version launched in China gave the same | 0.28 | ↗ ↗ |
| Regenerative braking, peak | not published |
Charging 3 / 6
| DC charge portsNot published | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Max DC charge powerMaximum charging power, published as 1.44 MW, with megawatt charging. The plug standard is not named | 1440 kW | ↗ ↗ |
| Charge time 20–80 %20–80 % with megawatt charging at up to 1.44 MW, 'under specified conditions' that Foton does not describe. The battery size is not given, so how much range 18 minutes adds is not known | 18 min | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Megawatt Charging System (MCS)Foton does not name the plug standard, so MCS itself is not confirmed. Foton showed megawatt charging equipment of its own on the stand | Megawatt charging at up to 1.44 MW | ↗ ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| AC charging | not published | |
| Vehicle-to-grid / bidirectionalyes / no | not published |
Powertrain 0 / 7
| Motor layoutNot published. Foton showed electric axles of its own on the stand, without saying which the BEACON uses | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous powerNot published | not published | |
| Peak powerNot published | not published | |
| Peak torqueNot published | not published | |
| TransmissionNot published | not published | |
| Gradeability, maximum | not published | |
| Acceleration 0–80 km/h at GCW | not published |
Safety 1 / 3
| Truck safety ratingNo Euro NCAP rating published. Chinese coverage of the version launched in China says the cab is certified to ECE R29-03, the UN rule on cab strength in a crash | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Driver assistance (ADAS)Foton says the system responded correctly in over 99 % of abnormal driving situations in its tests, and that it supports the driver without taking over the driver's responsibility. Which functions are standard in Europe is not said. Chinese coverage of the version launched in China names 7 cameras, 5 radars and 1 lidar | Integrated cruise assist and highway pilot (ICA/HWP) with 22 functions, including adaptive cruise control, lane centring, assisted lane changing and assisted overtaking; Foton says it is ready for Level 4 automated driving | ↗ ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Braking and stabilityNot published | not published |
Cab and equipment 2 / 5
| Cab typeFoton also names a '1,450 mm low-floor design' without saying what is measured | Sleeper cab with a 1,000 mm wide berth, on a four-point cab suspension | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Standard equipmentStandard or optional not stated. Foton says the cab suspension and seats cut vibration by 25 % | Air-suspended seats, AI voice assistant, 12.3-inch instrument display, 15.6-inch central touchscreen with truck navigation and smartphone connection, 420 litres of storage, power-assisted doors | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Power take-off (ePTO) | not published | |
| Driver positionleft, right, centre | not published | |
| Tyres | not published |
Service and warranty 1 / 5
| Service interval | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle warrantyNot published | not published | |
| Service network in EuropeFor Foton's whole range, not said for this truck. Foton's short release of 14 September (PR Newswire) listed the 300 outlets and a German parts centre among its plans for 2028; its full text (15 September) and the 16 September release say they exist today. The Unna location is from the 7 September release | More than 300 service outlets in Europe, a regional parts centre in Germany (Unna) and national parts warehouses in 17 countries, including the UK, France and Hungary | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Over-the-air updatesNot in Foton's IAA release; Chinese coverage of the version launched in China says the electronics can be updated over the air | not published | |
| Telematics / fleet portalNot published for this truck; Foton says its German subsidiary BROCK is to develop connected-vehicle services in Europe | not published |
Production and market 3 / 12
| Production / assemblyFoton's plan for Europe as a whole, 'subject to required approvals and implementation conditions' (16 September release); not said for this truck. Where trucks for Europe are built until then is not stated | Local assembly in Europe planned by 2028, with a European technology centre; no plant named | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Key suppliers | not published | |
| First customer | not published | |
| Homologation in the EUNot published for this truck. Foton says several of its battery-electric light trucks and vans have EU whole-vehicle type approval and VECTO certification | not published | |
| Availability in EuropeFor Foton's range as a whole, not a date for this truck. Foton's short release of 14 September put the nearly 20 markets among its 2028 plans | No date for this truck; Foton sells in nearly 20 European markets today and plans to cover the major European markets by 2028 | ↗ ↗ |
| Trucks delivered to date | not published | |
| List price, EuropeNot published | not published | |
| Lease rate | not published | |
| Maintenance cost | not published | |
| Residual value after 5 years | not published | |
| Toll and CO₂ classEU CO₂ class 5 = zero-emission | not published | |
| IAA Transportation 2026Foton calls it the truck's global debut (15 and 16 September), although a version was launched in China in December 2025 (Chinese coverage). Press conference at 8:40 on the media day, where Foton also handed over its 13 millionth vehicle; stand of more than 1,000 m² | Hall 21, Stand B02 (European premiere at Foton's press conference on the media day, 14 September); shown with the GALAXUS R9 PHEV, eGALAXUS D3, DAYSTAR, CAVAN C1, TUNLAND V9 PHEV and eAURORA, and six component exhibits: Foton's own heavy-truck batteries, electronic controls, light and heavy electric axles, vehicle control units and megawatt charging equipment | ↗ ↗ ↗ ↗ |
Company 2 / 3
Where these figures come from
- FOTON (PR Newswire), 14 September 2026: FOTON Showcases Its Full Product Portfolio in Hannover, Advancing a New Model for the Global Expansion of China's Commercial Vehicle Value Chain
- FOTON (PR Newswire), 7 September 2026: IAA Will Kick-off in Hannover -- Unveiling FOTON's Systematic Global Expansion Blueprint
- FOTON (PR Newswire), 8 September 2026: Fully Primed! FOTON Arrives at Hannover IAA with Full Product Range
- IAA Transportation 2026: press conference line-up, 14–15 September (BAIC Foton: Hall 21, B02)
- Foton (official global site)
- Foton on this site (IAA 2026 maker sheet)
- BAIC FOTON (foton-global.com), 15 September 2026: FOTON Showcases Its Full Product Portfolio in Hannover, Advancing a New Model for the Global Expansion of China's Commercial Vehicle Value Chain (full version)
- BAIC FOTON (GlobeNewswire), 16 September 2026: BAIC FOTON Presents Full Commercial Vehicle Portfolio at IAA TRANSPORTATION 2026
- Automotive World, 15 September 2026: BAIC Foton makes Cavan Beacon global debut at IAA 2026
Other more electric trucks