Home › Specifications › GAC T9 Robotruck (Pony.ai Gen-4)
Pony.ai · More electric trucks
GAC T9 Robotruck (Pony.ai Gen-4)
A truck that drives itself, on GAC's T9 electric tractor: 402 kWh, 330 km and 1.1 kWh/km, as Pony.ai's brochure prints it. What it would cost to run in Europe cannot be worked out yet: no price, no European approval, and Pony.ai only plans to enter Europe within two years.
Battery402 kWh
Range330 km

34 of 84 values are filled in.
Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it.
Correct or complete this sheet
General 10 / 15
| ModelPony.ai's fourth-generation self-driving truck, built on GAC Commercial Vehicle's T9 battery-electric tractor | Gen-4 Robotruck on the GAC T9 platform | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle typeThe brochure prints "PONY INSIDE": Pony.ai supplies the self-driving system, GAC the truck | Battery-electric heavy tractor unit, driving itself at Level 4 | ↗ ↗ |
| Axle configuration"6×4 tractor with electric drive axle", as printed | 6x4 | ↗ ↗ |
| Gross combination weight49,000 kg as printed, a figure for China. In the EU a 5-axle combination may weigh 40 t (42 t zero-emission), a 6-axle one 44 t | 49 t | ↗ |
| Kerb weight, tractorCurb weight as printed | 9200 kg | ↗ |
| Payload, with a standard trailerNot published | not published | |
| Payload if the Council position on 96/53/EC is adopted | not published | |
| Drive-axle load at maximum payloadNot published; the design load of the rear axle is 12,500 kg | not published | |
| Overall length, tractor | 7545 mm | ↗ |
| Overall width | 2550 mm | ↗ |
| Overall height | 3720 mm | ↗ |
| WheelbaseAs printed: first to second axle, then second to third | 3850 + 1350 mm | ↗ |
| Turning circleBYD gives the radius; the turning circle is twice that | not published | |
| Top speedBYD's UK release says 56 mph, which is the EU limit of 90 km/h | not published | |
| Clean-sheet electric design or converted diesel platform | Built on GAC's T9 battery-electric heavy truck platform; channel-section straight-through frame | ↗ ↗ |
Battery 3 / 9
| Battery capacity, installed (gross)Battery capacity as printed; the brochure does not say whether installed or usable. The GAC T9 Battery Swap beside it has 603 kWh | 402 kWh | ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity, usableNot published | not published | |
| Cell chemistryLFP, NMC … | LFP (lithium iron phosphate) | ↗ |
| Cell supplier"Sunwoda lithium iron phosphate battery", as printed | Sunwoda | ↗ |
| System voltageNominal | not published | |
| Pack architectureSecondary coverage describes the battery as built into the chassis (ChinaEVHome, 15 September); BYD's European release does not describe the pack | not published | |
| Battery life, ratedcycles / km / years | not published | |
| Operating temperature, battery and thermal system | not published | |
| Battery warrantyBYD's release gives the years and kilometres; the 70 % is in Automotive World's report | not published |
Range and energy 3 / 8
| Range, as claimedDriving range as printed; load, speed and test cycle not stated | 330 km | ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Range, favourable conditionsNot published | not published | |
| Range, real-world | not published | |
| Range test conditionReported in secondary coverage (ChinaEVHome, 15 September); not in BYD's European release | not published | |
| Energy consumptionCombined energy consumption as printed. Pony.ai also says its driving software cuts energy use by about 10 % against conventional trucks | 1.1 kWh/km | ↗ |
| Test fleet mileage | not published | |
| Drag coefficient (Cd) | 0.4 | ↗ |
| Regenerative braking, peak | not published |
Charging 1 / 6
| DC charge ports"Dual-plug 800A", as printed; the brochure gives no kW and does not say whether 800 A is per plug or in total, nor the plug type | Two charging plugs (dual-plug charging), 800 A | ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Max DC charge powerOn MCS, published as "1.5 MW+". On an ordinary CCS2 charger: 420 kW | not published | |
| Charge time 20–80 %At 1.5 MW, adding up to 248 miles (about 400 km). On CCS2 at 420 kW: up to 60 minutes | not published | |
| Megawatt Charging System (MCS)BYD calls it FLASH Charging, brought over from its passenger cars | not published | |
| AC charging | not published | |
| Vehicle-to-grid / bidirectionalyes / no | not published |
Powertrain 4 / 7
| Motor layoutReported by Chinese trade press in its IAA coverage, with a system peak of 750 kW (1,000 PS); BYD's European release does not say how many motors | 11.5 t electric drive axle with two permanent-magnet synchronous motors of 230 kW each | ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous power743 PS, BYD's "rated drive power"; converted to kW | not published | |
| System powerTwo motors of 230 kW, as printed; the brochure does not say whether that is rated or peak power | 460 (2 × 230) kW | ↗ |
| Peak torqueNot published | not published | |
| TransmissionNot published | 2-speed automated manual gearbox (AMT) | ↗ |
| Gradeability at GCWMaximum gradeability as printed; load not stated | 25 % | ↗ |
| Acceleration 0–80 km/h at GCW | not published |
Autonomous driving 6 / 12
| Level of automationDriving computer: four NVIDIA Orin-X, 1,016 TOPS in total — the same domain controller as Pony.ai's seventh-generation robotaxis. Two high-precision six-axis inertial measurement units. Pony.ai: the self-driving kit costs 70 % less than the previous generation's, and transport per tonne-kilometre is projected to cost about 30 % less | Level 4 | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Operational domain | Long-haul freight, dedicated-route logistics and port transport | ↗ |
| Lidar sensors | 9 | ↗ ↗ |
| Millimetre-wave radarsMillimetre-wave radars | 3 | ↗ ↗ |
| High-definition cameras | 13 — together with the lidars and radars: 360° perception | ↗ ↗ |
| Trucks one operator can supervise | not published | |
| Manoeuvring precision, autonomous docking | not published | |
| Obstacle detection, 360° | not published | |
| Predictive emergency brakingPony.ai: redundancy across braking, steering, power supply, communications, computing and sensing; the power supply unit also controls the sensor cleaning | Level 4 brake-by-wire and steer-by-wire, fully redundant | ↗ ↗ |
| Navigation | not published | |
| Cybersecurity | not published | |
| Safety driver required in Europe | not published |
Cab and equipment 0 / 7
| Cab type | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Standard equipmentStandard or optional not stated | not published | |
| Power take-off (ePTO) | not published | |
| Driver positionleft, right, centre | not published | |
| Driver assistance (ADAS)As BYD lists it: ACC, PCC, TSR, ISA, FCW, AEBS, LKA, AFL, LDW, LDP, LCW, DOW, MOIS, BSIS. Automotive World adds that it is ready for Level 2+ once rules allow | not published | |
| Truck safety ratingThe first long-haul electric truck Euro NCAP has rated; tested as a 4x2 tractor | not published | |
| TyresOn aluminium wheels | not published |
Service and warranty 1 / 5
| Service interval | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle warrantyNot published; only the battery warranty is | not published | |
| Service network in EuropeAnnounced, not yet in place; no number of workshops published | not published | |
| Over-the-air updatesyes / no | not published | |
| Telematics / fleet portal | Telematics box with dual-mode 5G, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth and C-V2X (vehicle-to-everything) communication | ↗ |
Production and market 4 / 12
| Production / assemblyPlant not named. In the long run, BYD says, everything it sells in Europe will be made in Europe. heise (15 September 2026) reports an assembly plant for heavy vehicles being built in Hungary, aimed at about 5,000 units a year, without saying the ETT 44 will be built there | Volume production scheduled to begin later in 2026 | ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Key suppliers | Pony.ai (self-driving system), Sunwoda (battery cells) | ↗ ↗ |
| First customer | not published | |
| Homologation in the EUEU WVTA, national, … | not published | |
| Availability in EuropePony.ai and GAC signed their cooperation agreement on 16 April 2026 and finished vehicle testing and validation within five months (Automotive World) | Not yet: Pony.ai plans to enter European and Middle Eastern markets within two years | ↗ ↗ |
| Trucks delivered to date | not published | |
| List price, EuropeNot published. BYD sells truck, charging, energy storage and financing as one package it calls Total Cost of Mobility | not published | |
| Lease rate | not published | |
| Maintenance cost | not published | |
| Residual value after 5 years | not published | |
| Toll and CO₂ classEU CO₂ class 5 = zero-emission | not published | |
| IAA Transportation 2026 | Open-air grounds, Pavilion 35 (GAC Commercial Vehicle), next to the T9 Battery Swap; world premiere on the media day, 14 September | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
Company 2 / 3
Where these figures come from
- Pony.ai, IAA Transportation 2026: Gen-4 Robotruck brochure, page "Vehicle configuration" (printed; photographed by eTRUCKTCO in Hanover on 17 September 2026). The link goes to Pony.ai's release of 14 September
- Pony.ai (PR Newswire), 14 September 2026: Pony.ai unveils new Gen-4 Robotruck in collaboration with GAC Commercial Vehicle
- electrive, 15 September 2026: GAC showcases electric vans and trucks at IAA (Florian Treiss)
- Automotive World, 14 September 2026: Pony.ai and GAC unveil Gen-4 Level 4 Robotruck at IAA 2026
- IAA Transportation 2026: press conference line-up, 14–15 September (GAC Commercial Vehicles: open-air grounds, Pavilion 35)
- GAC on this site (IAA 2026 maker sheet)
Other more electric trucks