e⚡TruckTCO BE

Home › Specifications › Renault Trucks E-Tech T 540

Renault Trucks · More electric trucks

Renault Trucks E-Tech T 540

Renault Trucks E-Tech T 540, on show in Hanover: up to 450 km and up to 25 tonnes payload, CCS charging at up to 350 kW but no megawatt charging, battery warranty 6 years or 720,000 km as standard. Renault has published no price and no energy consumption, so what it costs to run against a diesel T cannot be worked out yet.

Battery360–540 kWh
Range450 km
DC charging350 kW
Payload25 t
Renault Trucks E-Tech T 540Photo: Renault Trucks
30 of 77 values are filled in. Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it. Correct or complete this sheet

General 6 / 19

ModelModel name as sold; 540 is the battery capacity in kWh. The revised form of the earlier E-Tech T 4x2 — not a battery size of the E-Tech T 585 or T 780, which are 6x2 tractors on the new e-axleE-Tech T 540 4x2↗ ↗ ↗
Vehicle typeRenault also sells an E-Tech T rigid (4x2, 6x2, 8x2) with up to 540 kWhBattery-electric tractor unit for regional distribution↗ ↗ ↗
Axle configurationelectrive (30 June 2026) writes that the central-drive range also comes as 6x2, 6x4 and other variants4x2↗ ↗
Gross combination weightNot stated for the T 540 tractor. Renault's UK and French E-Tech T pages give 65 t maximum GCW for the E-Tech T range as a whole, without naming a modelnot published
Gross vehicle weight, tractorNot stated for the T 540; Renault's UK page gives 19 to 26 t for its electric tractors as a groupnot published
Kerb weight, tractorNot publishednot published
Payload, with a standard trailerUp to 25 tonnes; GCW behind the figure not stated. electrive (November 2025) gave 23 to 25 t25 t↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Payload if the Council position on 96/53/EC is adoptednot published
Front / rear axle design loadNot publishednot published
Drive-axle load at maximum payloadnot published
Overall length, tractorNot publishednot published
Overall widthNot publishednot published
Overall heightNot publishednot published
WheelbaseNot stated for the T 540; Renault's UK page gives 3,600 to 4,100 mm for its electric tractors as a groupnot published
Turning radius, minimumNot publishednot published
Top speedNot publishednot published
SuspensionListed for the E-Tech T rangeFull air suspension↗
Fifth wheelnot published
Clean-sheet electric design or converted diesel platformRevised version of the E-Tech T built since late 2023, keeping the central drive with a propshaft; not the new e-axle platform of the T 585 and T 780↗ ↗ ↗

Battery 5 / 9

Battery capacity, installed (gross)4 to 6 packs of 90 kWh each (electrive)360–540 kWh↗ ↗
Battery capacity, usableNot published for the T 540. Renault's wider battery window (up to 95 % usable, June 2026) is announced for the E-Tech T; electrive says the T 540 kept its 450 kmnot published
Cell chemistryA new cell generation with the cells rearranged (electrive)NCA (nickel, cobalt, aluminium) lithium-ion↗
Cell supplierAs reported by electrive at the Solutrans launchSamsung SDI; packs assembled by Akasol (Germany)↗
System voltageNot publishednot published
Pack architecture4 to 6 separate 90 kWh packs↗
Battery life, ratedcycles / km / yearsnot published
Operating temperature, battery and thermal systemnot published
Battery warrantyRenault's IAA release: standard for all three E-Tech T models, extendable to 10 years via the Serenity Pack. First announced as up to 8 years or 1 million km, a figure Renault's French T 540/585/780 page still shows. electrive: the Serenity Pack extension is capped at 1,200 MWh of energy delivered for the T 5406 years or 720,000 km as standard; up to 10 years with the Serenity Pack↗ ↗ ↗ ↗

Range and energy 1 / 8

Range, as claimedUp to 450 km (280 miles in the IAA article), depending on weight and use. The earlier E-Tech T claimed about 300 km450 km↗ ↗ ↗ ↗ ↗ ↗
Range, favourable conditionsNot publishednot published
Range, real-worldnot published
Range test conditionNot published for the T 540; Renault says only that range depends on weight and operating conditions. Its IAA release adds that 80 % of daily missions in its connected-fleet data can be done with the new electric range, and 90 % with a 45-minute CCS charge at 350 kW during the driver's breaknot published
Energy consumptionNot publishednot published
Test fleet mileageNo figure for this model. Renault: more than 3,500 electric vehicles have covered over 130 million km (June 2026)not published
Drag coefficient (Cd)not published
Regenerative braking, peaknot published

Charging 4 / 6

DC charge portsCCS↗
Max DC charge powerAs on Renault's UK and French product pages. The French page gives the time to add 100 km of range on the T 540: 48 minutes at 150 kW, 29 at 250 kW and 18 at 350 kW (its summary table says 'up to 23 min')350 kW↗ ↗
Charge time 20–80 %Not published as 20–80 %. Renault: about 100 km of range in 15 to 25 minutes depending on the E-Tech T model, and up to 250 km in a 45-minute break at 350 kW; see the DC charging row for the French page's times per charger powernot published
Megawatt Charging System (MCS)Renault: 'T540 is not MCS compatible'No↗ ↗
AC chargingReported by electrive at the November 2025 launch; Renault's current pages do not mention AC charging for the T 540, and the second-generation Volvo sister models dropped it43 kW↗
Vehicle-to-grid / bidirectionalyes / nonot published

Powertrain 3 / 7

Motor layoutNumber of motors not stated by Renault. electrive reported three motors carried over unchanged (November 2025), then an improved central drive (June 2026)Central electric drive with a propshaft↗ ↗
Continuous powerNot published by Renault; electrive gave 315 kW in November 2025, before the drive update it reported in June 2026not published
Peak powerRenault's UK page gives 300 to 540 kW (405–735 hp) for its central-drive electric tractors; electrive gave 490 kW in November 2025300–540 kW↗
Peak torqueNot publishednot published
TransmissionRenault's name; listed for the tractors other than the T 585 and T 780Electric Optidriver CAT gearbox↗
Gradeability, maximumNot publishednot published
Acceleration 0–80 km/h at GCWnot published

Safety 2 / 3

Truck safety ratingThe electric T has not been rated; the diesel Renault Trucks T holds four Euro NCAP stars and the CitySafe label (Renault, 22 April 2026)not published
Driver assistance (ADAS)Listed for the E-Tech T range; standard or optional not statedDriver Assist (lane keeping with speed and distance control), lane departure warning with corrective steering, emergency braking ahead and when turning (AEBS, AEB Turn), radars and cameras around the truck, rear-view camera↗
Braking and stabilityHill start assist with Autohold, Smart Steering for directional stability↗

Cab and equipment 1 / 5

Cab typeNot stated for the T 540not published
Standard equipmentListed for the E-Tech T range; standard or optional not statedKeyless start, 9-inch HD touchscreen with cameras, navigation, Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, two USB-C sockets, steering column adjustable in three directions↗
Power take-off (ePTO)not published
Driver positionleft, right, centrenot published
Tyresnot published

Service and warranty 2 / 5

Service intervalnot published
Vehicle warrantyGiven together with the battery warranty on Renault's UK pageFull vehicle for the first year, driveline for the second and third years↗
Service network in EuropeNot stated in the sources readnot published
Over-the-air updatesyes / nonot published
Telematics / fleet portalSerenity Pack: first-year monitoring and support by Renault's electric-truck expertsOptifleet fleet management; Driver App for charge status and pre-conditioning of cab and batteries↗ ↗

Production and market 4 / 12

Production / assemblyWhere the E-Tech T and E-Tech C have been assembled since late 2023Bourg-en-Bresse (France)↗ ↗
Key suppliersSamsung SDI (cells), Akasol (battery packs)↗
First customernot published
Homologation in the EUEU WVTA, national, …not published
Availability in EuropeDelivery date not statedAvailable to order since November 2025↗
Trucks delivered to dateNo figure for this modelnot published
List price, EuropeNot publishednot published
Lease ratenot published
Maintenance costnot published
Residual value after 5 yearsnot published
Toll and CO₂ classEU CO₂ class 5 = zero-emissionnot published
IAA Transportation 2026Not a premiere; Renault's world premiere at the show is the diesel T High model year 2027Hall 21, Stand B52 (923 m²), next to the E-Tech T 780 and the E-Tech D 14T↗ ↗ ↗ ↗

Company 2 / 3

ManufacturerRenault Trucks, a Volvo Group company; heavy electric trucks built in Bourg-en-Bresse, France↗ ↗ ↗
Websiterenault-trucks.com↗
Sales contactnot published

Where these figures come from

Other more electric trucks