Home › Specifications › Volvo FH Electric
Volvo Trucks · More electric trucks
Volvo FH Electric
Volvo's second-generation FH Electric, on show in Hanover: up to 460 kWh usable, up to 470 km, and 20 to 80 % in about 65 minutes on a 350 kW charger. It has no megawatt charging and, per electrive, no AC charging any more. Volvo has published neither a price nor an energy consumption, so what it costs to run against a diesel FH cannot be worked out yet.
Battery360–540 kWh
Range470 km
DC charging350 kW
Payload23.8 t
Photo: Volvo Trucks
33 of 77 values are filled in.
Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it.
Correct or complete this sheet
General 7 / 19
| ModelModel name as sold. The second generation, launched 14 April 2026, replaces the first (three motors, about 300 km). The same driveline in the aerodynamic cab is sold as the Volvo FH Aero Electric; the extended-range FH Aero Electric with e-axle is a different truck | FH Electric (second generation) | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle typee.g. tractor, rigid | Battery-electric heavy truck, as tractor unit or rigid | ↗ |
| Axle configurationTwin drive axles and low gearing can be specified | Tractor 4x2, 6x2, 6x4; rigid 4x2, 6x2, 6x4, 8x2, 8x4 | ↗ ↗ |
| Gross combination weightUp to 65 tonnes where national rules allow it (electrive); in most EU countries the limit is lower | 65 t | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Gross vehicle weight, tractorNot published | not published | |
| Kerb weight, tractorNot published | not published | |
| Payload, with a standard trailerUp to 23.8 tonnes as a 4x2 tractor; trailer and GCW behind the figure not stated. electrive notes the top payload and the top range come from different battery configurations | 23.8 t | ↗ ↗ |
| Payload if the Council position on 96/53/EC is adopted | not published | |
| Front / rear axle design loadNot published | not published | |
| Drive-axle load at maximum payloadNot published | not published | |
| Overall length, tractorNot published | not published | |
| Overall widthNot published | not published | |
| Overall heightNot published; depends on the cab | not published | |
| WheelbaseNot published | not published | |
| Turning radius, minimumNot published | not published | |
| Top speedNot published | not published | |
| Suspension | Air suspension on all axles | ↗ |
| Fifth wheel | not published | |
| Clean-sheet electric design or converted diesel platform | Built on the FH chassis and cabs, on the same flexible lines as the diesel models; the electric driveline is all-new for the second generation | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
Battery 6 / 9
| Battery capacity, installed (gross)Onboard energy, 4 to 6 battery packs; electrive reports 90 kWh per pack | 360–540 kWh | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity, usableUp to 460 kWh, for the largest configuration | 460 kWh | ↗ |
| Cell chemistryNot in Volvo's own material. electrive reports a new cell generation that is still NCA, confirmed at the launch of the Renault Trucks sister model | NCA (nickel, cobalt, aluminium) lithium-ion | ↗ |
| Cell supplierNamed by electrive for the Volvo Group's new generation; Volvo's own material does not name a supplier | Samsung SDI | ↗ ↗ |
| System voltageNot published; Volvo gives the 350 kW charging figure as 'below 750 V' | not published | |
| Pack architectureThe cell format is from electrive, which contrasts it with the prismatic cells in the L-shaped packs of the extended-range FH Aero Electric | 4 to 6 separate packs on the chassis, with small cylindrical cells | ↗ ↗ |
| Battery life, ratedVolvo's wording: 'a potential lifespan of up to ten years' | Up to 10 years | ↗ |
| Operating temperature, battery and thermal system | not published | |
| Battery warrantyNot published for this model. For the extended-range FH Aero Electric, electrive (11 June 2026) reports at least 80 % state of health after 6 years or 720,000 km | not published |
Range and energy 2 / 8
| Range, as claimedUp to 470 km; Volvo says it depends on weather, wind, total weight and driving. The first generation claimed about 300 km | 470 km | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Range, favourable conditionsNot published | not published | |
| Range, real-world | not published | |
| Range test conditionWeight, speed and temperature not published | Tractor-unit use | ↗ |
| Energy consumptionNot published | not published | |
| Test fleet mileageNo figure for this model. All of Volvo's electric trucks together have driven 500 million km since 2019 (Volvo, 15 September 2026) | not published | |
| Drag coefficient (Cd) | not published | |
| Regenerative braking, peakNot published; one-pedal driving with selectable retardation levels | not published |
Charging 5 / 6
| DC charge portsOn the second generation the charging ports sit on the left-hand side only (electrive) | CCS | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Max DC charge powerAt below 750 V. The first generation took 250 kW | 350 kW | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Charge time 20–80 %About 65 minutes at 350 kW, as on Volvo's international, UK, Dutch and Swedish pages and in the April release; battery size behind the figure not stated. Volvo's German product page, read on 16 September 2026, gives 50 minutes for the same 20–80 % charge at 350 kW; the sheet keeps 65 until Volvo clears this up | 65 min | ↗ ↗ |
| Megawatt Charging System (MCS)electrive (11 June 2026): MCS is so far only on the FH Aero Electric with extended range | Not yet available | ↗ ↗ |
| AC chargingReported by electrive (11 June 2026) for all second-generation heavy Volvo electric trucks; the first generation took 43 kW AC. Not stated on Volvo's own pages | Not offered | ↗ |
| Vehicle-to-grid / bidirectionalyes / no | not published |
Powertrain 3 / 7
| Motor layoutSplit-motor or dual-motor output can drive cranes, hook lifts or tipper bodies | Two electric motors in one central drive unit with the gearbox and power electronics, driving the axle through a propshaft | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous powerNot published for the second generation (electrive). The first generation gave 315 kW continuous | not published | |
| Peak powerFive power levels: 300, 350, 400, 470 and 540 kW; Volvo gives 540 kW as 731 hp. The first generation peaked at 490 kW | 300–540 kW | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Peak torqueNot published | not published | |
| Transmissionelectrive (11 June 2026) calls it the I-Shift carried over from the first generation and upgraded | Eight-speed powershift gearbox built for electric drive | ↗ ↗ |
| Gradeability, maximumNot published | not published | |
| Acceleration 0–80 km/h at GCW | not published |
Safety 1 / 3
| Truck safety ratingThe electric FH has not been rated. Euro NCAP gave five stars to the diesel Volvo FH 4x2 tractor and FH 6x2 rigid (Volvo, 22 April 2026) | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Driver assistance (ADAS)Not listed on the FH Electric pages read | not published | |
| Braking and stabilityVolvo's names: One-pedal driving, Active Grip Control, Auto Go, Change Direction | One-pedal driving with selectable retardation, traction control for ice and gravel, crawl at 1.5 km/h when the brake is released, change from forward to reverse at up to 30 km/h | ↗ |
Cab and equipment 2 / 5
| Cab type | Low day cab, day cab, low sleeper cab, sleeper cab, Globetrotter cab, Globetrotter XL cab | ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Standard equipment | not published | |
| Power take-off (ePTO)Truck and body can be worked at the same time | Electric PTO at 30, 60 or 90 kW, plus a clutch-independent gearbox PTO that works while driving and while charging | ↗ ↗ |
| Driver positionleft, right, centre | not published | |
| Tyres | not published |
Service and warranty 2 / 5
| Service interval | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle warrantyNot published | not published | |
| Service network in EuropeVolvo Trucks as a whole, not a European figure; its releases also give 2,200 service points in about 130 countries | More than 2,500 certified workshops and dealers | ↗ ↗ |
| Over-the-air updatesyes / no | not published | |
| Telematics / fleet portal | Volvo Connect; range and energy prediction tools, service contracts for electric trucks | ↗ |
Production and market 3 / 12
| Production / assemblyBuilt on flexible lines together with diesel trucks (electrive) | Tuve (Gothenburg, Sweden) and Ghent (Belgium); series production started in September 2026 | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Key suppliers | not published | |
| First customer | not published | |
| Homologation in the EUEU WVTA, national, … | not published | |
| Availability in EuropeRolled out market by market from 2026 | Orderable since summer 2026; first deliveries from September 2026 | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Trucks delivered to dateNo figure for this model. Volvo: 7,000 electric trucks of all models since 2019 (15 September 2026) | not published | |
| List price, EuropeNot published | not published | |
| Lease rate | not published | |
| Maintenance cost | not published | |
| Residual value after 5 years | not published | |
| Toll and CO₂ classEU CO₂ class 5 = zero-emission | not published | |
| IAA Transportation 2026Not a premiere. Volvo's heavy electric range (FH, FM, FMX Electric and FH Aero Electric) received the International Truck of the Year 2027 award at the show on the evening of 14 September | Hall 11, Stand D09; one of eight trucks on Volvo's stand, next to the FM Electric, FL Electric and the extended-range FH Aero Electric | ↗ ↗ ↗ ↗ |
Company 2 / 3
Where these figures come from
- IAA Transportation newsroom, 30 July 2026: Volvo Trucks Showcases New Drivelines and Truck Generations at IAA TRANSPORTATION 2026
- Volvo Trucks: Volvo FH Electric (product page with specifications)
- Volvo Trucks, 14 April 2026: Volvo launches new electric trucks – with ranges up to 700 km
- Volvo Trucks, 1 July 2026: Volvo Trucks at IAA 2026: New drivelines and technologies show the way forward for customers and the transport industry
- Volvo Trucks, 14 September 2026: Volvo starts series production of electric trucks with up to 700 km range
- Volvo Trucks, 15 September 2026: Volvo Trucks electric range wins “International Truck of the Year 2027” award
- electrive, 16 April 2026: Volvo Trucks unveils its new generation of electric HGVs (Cora Werwitzke)
- electrive, 11 June 2026: Volvo Trucks boosts net battery capacity to record level (Cora Werwitzke)
- IAA Transportation 2026: press conference line-up, 14–15 September (Volvo Trucks: Hall 11, D09)
- Volvo Trucks on this site (IAA 2026 maker sheet)
- Volvo Trucks Deutschland: Volvo FH Electric (product page with specifications)
Other more electric trucks