e⚡TruckTCO BE

Home › Specifications › Volvo FL Electric

Volvo Trucks · More electric trucks

Volvo FL Electric

Volvo FL Electric, on show in Hanover: up to 450 km with six battery packs, or about 200 km on the new 14-tonne version with 145 kWh usable. It charges at 43 kW AC (a full charge of four packs takes about 8 hours) or 150 kW DC, so ordinary depot charging is enough for many city rounds. What it costs to run against a diesel FL cannot be worked out yet: Volvo publishes no price and no energy consumption.

Battery176–565 kWh
Range200–450 km
DC charging150 kW
Volvo FL ElectricPhoto: Volvo Trucks
42 of 77 values are filled in. Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it. Correct or complete this sheet

General 14 / 19

ModelModel name as sold. Versions: 16 and 18 t, and a 14 t entry version announced 9 December 2025. Which version stands in Hanover is not statedFL Electric↗ ↗ ↗
Vehicle typee.g. tractor, rigidBattery-electric medium-duty rigid for door-to-door deliveries and refuse collection↗
Axle configurationVolvo's specification table lists only the 4x2 rigid; the 14 t release mentions several axle configurations without naming them4x2↗ ↗
Gross combination weightAs Volvo's specification table gives it: 'up to 18.6 tonnes'. Volvo's UK model-range sheet plates the 16 t for solo use (design GCW 16 t, no trailer) with the RS1132A drive axle as standard18.6 t↗
Gross vehicle weightFor this rigid: the gross vehicle weight of the three versions, 14, 16 and 18 t. Older figures (2023) give 16.7 t14000–18000 kg↗ ↗ ↗
Kerb weightChassis-cab weight of the 16 t version (UK specification), by wheelbase from 3,800 to 6,500 mm: 6,490 kg on the shortest, 7,015 kg on 6,200 mm. Without body and driver, ±3 %; Volvo does not say which battery set-up the weights are for. Not published for the 14 and 18 t6490–7015 kg↗
PayloadNot published as a net figure. Volvo's UK model-range sheet gives 8,985 to 9,510 kg for the 16 t by wheelbase, but that includes the body, driver and equipment, so the body's weight still has to come off. Volvo (2023): about 500 kg more payload for every NCA battery pack left offnot published
Payload if the Council position on 96/53/EC is adoptednot published
Front / rear axle design loadFront / rear axle design capacity of the 16 t version (UK specification), also the plated axle loads there5800 / 10900 kg↗
Drive-axle load at maximum payloadnot published
Overall lengthOverall chassis length of the 16 t version, wheelbase 3,800 to 6,500 mm (UK specification); front overhang 1,320 mm. The body can change the overall length7825–10525 mm↗
Overall widthDown to 2.4 m on the 14 t version. The cab of the 16 t is 2,282 mm wide on Volvo's UK model-range drawing; the overall width of the 16 and 18 t is not stated2400 mm↗
Overall heightHeight to the cab roof of the 16 t chassis-cab on Volvo's UK model-range drawing (medium chassis height, ±10 mm on air suspension); a body usually stands higher. Frame top about 900 mm above the ground at the rear. Ground clearance of the 14 t version: 240 mm2725 mm↗
WheelbaseGiven for the 14 t version; the 16 t comes in the same range, in ten lengths 300 mm apart (UK specification)3800–6500 mm↗ ↗ ↗
Turning radius, minimumHalf of the 13.3 m turning circle between kerbs (14.6 m between walls) of the 16 t on the shortest wheelbase, 3,800 mm; on 6,500 mm it is 21.4 m (22.7 m). Volvo calls the figures theoretically calculated6.65 m↗
Top speedNot publishednot published
SuspensionUK specification of the 16 t: two-bag air suspension at the rear and air at the front as standard; parabolic steel front springs are an optionAir suspension on all axles↗ ↗
Fifth wheelNot applicable: rigid trucknot published
Clean-sheet electric design or converted diesel platformElectric version of the Volvo FL, assembled on the same mixed line as the diesel and gas FL and FE↗

Battery 5 / 9

Battery capacity, installed (gross)176 kWh LFP on the 14 t (gross figure given to electrive on request); 280–565 kWh with 3 to 6 NCA packs of about 94 kWh on the 16 and 18 t. The LFP packs are also offered on the larger trucks, up to eight packs176–565 kWh↗ ↗
Battery capacity, usable14 t version only; not published for the 16 and 18 t145 kWh↗
Cell chemistryLFP is a first for Volvo Trucks (electrive)LFP on the 14 t version and as a new option on the 16 and 18 t; NCA in the 94 kWh packs↗ ↗
Cell supplierNamed by electrive, not in Volvo's release; the supplier of the NCA packs is not stated in the sources readCATL (LFP batteries)↗
System voltageNot publishednot published
Pack architectureThe packs are shaped and placed so they do not get in the way of bodywork on the frameSeparate packs on the chassis: 3 to 6 NCA packs, or LFP packs (4 on the 14 t, up to 8 on the larger trucks)↗ ↗ ↗
Battery life, ratedcycles / km / yearsnot published
Operating temperature, battery and thermal systemnot published
Battery warrantyNot publishednot published

Range and energy 2 / 8

Range, as claimedAbout 200 km for the 14 t (depending on load, driving, temperature); 280 km with three and up to 450 km with six NCA packs200–450 km↗ ↗ ↗
Range, favourable conditionsNot publishednot published
Range, real-worldnot published
Range test conditionWeight and temperature not publishedDistribution work without an electro-mechanical PTO (the 280 and 450 km figures)↗
Energy consumptionNot publishednot published
Test fleet mileagenot published
Drag coefficient (Cd)not published
Regenerative braking, peaknot published

Charging 3 / 6

DC charge portsCCS↗
Max DC charge powerFull charge of four NCA packs: 2.3 hours at 150 kW DC (product page)150 kW↗ ↗
Charge time 20–80 %Left empty: Volvo's 14 t release gives 20–80 % in 'approximately 1.28 hours with eight battery units', which does not fit the four packs electrive reports for that version; electrive quotes about one hour for 0–100 % on DCnot published
Megawatt Charging System (MCS)Not mentionednot published
AC chargingDoubled from 22 kW in the late-2023 update. Full charge of four NCA packs: about 8 hours43 kW on-board charger↗ ↗ ↗
Vehicle-to-grid / bidirectionalyes / nonot published

Powertrain 4 / 7

Motor layoutOne electric motor with a two-speed gearbox↗ ↗
Continuous power175 hp as Volvo gives it130 kW↗
Peak powerAlso the figure for the new 14 t version180 kW↗ ↗ ↗
Peak torqueNot published in the current materialnot published
TransmissionTwo-speed gearbox↗
Gradeability, maximumNot publishednot published
Acceleration 0–80 km/h at GCWnot published

Safety 2 / 3

Truck safety ratingNot rated: the FL is not among the seven Volvo models Euro NCAP has rated (Volvo, 22 April 2026)not published
Driver assistance (ADAS)Added in the late-2023 update. Volvo's UK model-range sheet for the 16 t lists intelligent speed assistance with road-sign recognition and driver-attention monitoring (EU GSR2 step 2) as standardDetection of pedestrians and cyclists, side collision monitoring, driver warning system; 360-degree camera optional↗ ↗
Braking and stabilityStandard on the 16 t in Volvo's UK model-range sheetElectronic braking system (EBS) with traction control and hill hold↗

Cab and equipment 4 / 5

Cab typeUK specification of the 16 t: day cab as standard; the 'Comfort' cab with extra storage or a fold-up bunk behind the driver is an optionDay cab or short sleeper cab↗ ↗
Standard equipmentFrom the late-2023 update; standard or optional not statedLED headlights, slimmer exterior mirrors, redesigned front↗
Power take-off (ePTO)Lets bodies run on electricity without an electro-mechanical motorElectric PTO interface for the body↗ ↗
Driver positionleft, right, centrenot published
TyresThe tyres behind Volvo's weights and dimensions for the 16 t (UK specification); aluminium rims as standard, steel rims optional285/70R19.5 on front and drive axle↗

Service and warranty 2 / 5

Service intervalnot published
Vehicle warrantyNot publishednot published
Service network in EuropeVolvo Trucks as a whole, not a European figure; its releases also give 2,200 service points in about 130 countriesMore than 2,500 certified workshops and dealers↗ ↗
Over-the-air updatesyes / nonot published
Telematics / fleet portalIn the UK specification of the 16 t, the 4G telematics gateway and the 'My Truck' driver app (with a Volvo Connect subscription) are optionsVolvo Connect: truck monitoring, predictive service planning, route planning and real-time energy status↗ ↗

Production and market 4 / 12

Production / assemblyThe 1,000th electric FL or FE left the plant in December 2024Blainville-sur-Orne (Normandy, France), in series since March 2020↗
Key suppliersnot published
First customernot published
Homologation in the EUStandard on the 16 t in Volvo's UK model-range sheet; the body is approved in a later stageEU whole vehicle type approval as a first-stage chassis-cab↗
Availability in EuropeAlso sold in the Middle East, Africa, Asia and Australia16 and 18 t on sale since 2019; the 14 t version goes into production in the second half of 2026↗ ↗
Trucks delivered to dateNo FL figure. Volvo: more than 5,000 electric trucks of all models sold (December 2025)not published
List price, EuropeNot publishednot published
Lease ratenot published
Maintenance costnot published
Residual value after 5 yearsnot published
Toll and CO₂ classEU CO₂ class 5 = zero-emissionnot published
IAA Transportation 2026Not a premiere. The 'Volvo FL 4x4 crew cab' among Volvo's test-drive trucks is not named as electricHall 11, Stand D09; one of eight trucks on Volvo's stand, next to the FH Electric, FM Electric and the extended-range FH Aero Electric↗ ↗ ↗

Company 2 / 3

ManufacturerVolvo Trucks, part of the Volvo Group (Sweden); trucks assembled in 12 countries↗ ↗
Websitevolvotrucks.com↗
Sales contactnot published

Where these figures come from

Other more electric trucks