Home › Specifications › Volvo FM Electric
Volvo Trucks · More electric trucks
Volvo FM Electric
Volvo's second-generation FM Electric, on show in Hanover: up to 460 kWh usable, up to 470 km, and 20 to 80 % in about 65 minutes on a 350 kW charger. It has no megawatt charging and, per electrive, no AC charging any more, so depot charging needs a DC charger. Volvo has published neither a price nor an energy consumption, so what it costs to run against a diesel FM cannot be worked out yet.
Battery360–540 kWh
Range470 km
DC charging350 kW
Payload23.8 t
Photo: Volvo Trucks
33 of 77 values are filled in.
Know one we are missing, or one that is wrong? This sheet is open for anyone to correct — type into it on eTRUCKTCO.eu, press Review & send, and confirm the e-mail. It is on all three sites the moment we have checked it.
Correct or complete this sheet
General 7 / 19
| ModelModel name as sold. The second generation, launched 14 April 2026, replaces the first (three motors, about 300 km). The FM Low Entry stays on the first-generation driveline (electrive, 11 June 2026) | FM Electric (second generation) | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle typee.g. tractor, rigid | Battery-electric heavy truck, as tractor unit or rigid, for deliveries, container and crane work, construction, refuse and utilities in and around towns | ↗ ↗ |
| Axle configurationTwin drive axles and low gearing can be specified | Tractor 4x2, 6x2, 6x4; rigid 4x2, 6x2, 6x4, 8x2, 8x4 | ↗ ↗ |
| Gross combination weightUp to 65 tonnes where national rules allow it (electrive); in most EU countries the limit is lower | 65 t | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Gross vehicle weight, tractorNot published | not published | |
| Kerb weight, tractorNot published | not published | |
| Payload, with a standard trailerUp to 23.8 tonnes as a 4x2 tractor, a figure Volvo gives for the FH, FM and FMX Electric together; trailer and GCW behind it not stated. electrive notes the top payload and the top range come from different battery configurations | 23.8 t | ↗ ↗ |
| Payload if the Council position on 96/53/EC is adopted | not published | |
| Front / rear axle design loadNot published | not published | |
| Drive-axle load at maximum payloadNot published | not published | |
| Overall length, tractorNot published | not published | |
| Overall widthNot published | not published | |
| Overall heightNot published; depends on the cab | not published | |
| WheelbaseNot published | not published | |
| Turning radius, minimumNot published | not published | |
| Top speedNot published | not published | |
| Suspension | Air suspension on all axles | ↗ |
| Fifth wheel | not published | |
| Clean-sheet electric design or converted diesel platform | Built on the FM chassis and cabs, on the same flexible lines as the diesel models; the electric driveline is all-new for the second generation | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
Battery 6 / 9
| Battery capacity, installed (gross)Onboard energy, 4 to 6 battery packs; electrive reports 90 kWh per pack | 360–540 kWh | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Battery capacity, usableUp to 460 kWh, for the largest configuration | 460 kWh | ↗ |
| Cell chemistryNot in Volvo's own material. electrive reports a new cell generation that is still NCA, confirmed at the launch of the Renault Trucks sister model | NCA (nickel, cobalt, aluminium) lithium-ion | ↗ |
| Cell supplierNamed by electrive for the Volvo Group's new generation; Volvo's own material does not name a supplier | Samsung SDI | ↗ ↗ |
| System voltageNot published; Volvo gives the 350 kW charging figure as 'below 750 V' | not published | |
| Pack architectureelectrive names small cylindrical cells for the central-drive trucks (it writes ‘FH Electric’), against prismatic cells in the L-shaped packs of the extended-range FH Aero Electric | 4 to 6 separate packs on the chassis, with small cylindrical cells | ↗ ↗ |
| Battery life, ratedVolvo's wording: 'a potential lifespan of up to ten years' | Up to 10 years | ↗ |
| Operating temperature, battery and thermal system | not published | |
| Battery warrantyNot published for this model. For the extended-range FH Aero Electric, electrive (11 June 2026) reports at least 80 % state of health after 6 years or 720,000 km | not published |
Range and energy 2 / 8
| Range, as claimedUp to 470 km; Volvo says it depends on weather, wind, total weight and driving. The first generation claimed about 300 km | 470 km | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Range, favourable conditionsNot published | not published | |
| Range, real-world | not published | |
| Range test conditionWeight, speed and temperature not published | Tractor-unit use | ↗ |
| Energy consumptionNot published | not published | |
| Test fleet mileageNo figure for this model. All of Volvo's electric trucks together have driven 500 million km since 2019 (Volvo, 15 September 2026) | not published | |
| Drag coefficient (Cd) | not published | |
| Regenerative braking, peakNot published; one-pedal driving with selectable retardation levels | not published |
Charging 5 / 6
| DC charge portsOn the second generation the charging ports sit on the left-hand side only (electrive) | CCS | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Max DC charge powerAt below 750 V. The first generation took 250 kW | 350 kW | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Charge time 20–80 %About 65 minutes at 350 kW, as on Volvo's international, UK, Dutch and Swedish pages and in the April release; battery size behind the figure not stated. Volvo's German product page, read on 16 September 2026, gives 50 minutes for the same 20–80 % charge at 350 kW; the sheet keeps 65 until Volvo clears this up | 65 min | ↗ ↗ |
| Megawatt Charging System (MCS)electrive (11 June 2026): MCS is so far only on the FH Aero Electric with extended range | Not yet available | ↗ ↗ |
| AC chargingReported by electrive (11 June 2026) for all second-generation heavy Volvo electric trucks; the first generation took 43 kW AC. Not stated on Volvo's own pages | Not offered | ↗ |
| Vehicle-to-grid / bidirectionalyes / no | not published |
Powertrain 3 / 7
| Motor layoutSplit-motor or dual-motor output can drive cranes, hook lifts or tipper bodies | Two electric motors in one central drive unit with the gearbox and power electronics, driving the axle through a propshaft | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Continuous powerNot published for the second generation (electrive). The first generation gave 315 kW continuous | not published | |
| Peak powerFive power levels: 300, 350, 400, 470 and 540 kW; Volvo gives 540 kW as 731 hp. The first generation peaked at 490 kW | 300–540 kW | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Peak torqueNot published | not published | |
| Transmissionelectrive (11 June 2026) calls it the I-Shift carried over from the first generation and upgraded | Eight-speed powershift gearbox built for electric drive | ↗ ↗ |
| Gradeability, maximumNot published | not published | |
| Acceleration 0–80 km/h at GCW | not published |
Safety 1 / 3
| Truck safety ratingThe electric FM has not been rated. Euro NCAP gave five stars to the diesel Volvo FM 4x2 tractor, 4x2 rigid and 6x2 rigid (Volvo, 22 April 2026) | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Driver assistance (ADAS)Not listed on the FM Electric pages read | not published | |
| Braking and stabilityVolvo's names: One-pedal driving, Active Grip Control, Auto Go, Change Direction | One-pedal driving with selectable retardation, traction control for ice and gravel, crawl at 1.5 km/h when the brake is released, change from forward to reverse at up to 30 km/h | ↗ |
Cab and equipment 2 / 5
| Cab type | Low day cab, day cab, low sleeper cab, sleeper cab, Globetrotter cab | ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Standard equipment | not published | |
| Power take-off (ePTO)Truck and body can be worked at the same time | Electric PTO at 30, 60 or 90 kW, plus a clutch-independent gearbox PTO that works while driving and while charging | ↗ ↗ |
| Driver positionleft, right, centre | not published | |
| Tyres | not published |
Service and warranty 2 / 5
| Service interval | not published | |
|---|---|---|
| Vehicle warrantyNot published | not published | |
| Service network in EuropeVolvo Trucks as a whole, not a European figure; its releases also give 2,200 service points in about 130 countries | More than 2,500 certified workshops and dealers | ↗ ↗ |
| Over-the-air updatesyes / no | not published | |
| Telematics / fleet portal | Range and energy prediction tools, full-coverage service contracts and digital services for electric trucks | ↗ |
Production and market 3 / 12
| Production / assemblyBuilt on flexible lines together with diesel trucks (electrive) | Tuve (Gothenburg, Sweden) and Ghent (Belgium); series production started in September 2026 | ↗ ↗ |
|---|---|---|
| Key suppliers | not published | |
| First customer | not published | |
| Homologation in the EUEU WVTA, national, … | not published | |
| Availability in EuropeRolled out market by market from 2026 | Orderable since summer 2026; first deliveries from September 2026 | ↗ ↗ ↗ |
| Trucks delivered to dateNo figure for this model. Volvo: 7,000 electric trucks of all models since 2019 (15 September 2026) | not published | |
| List price, EuropeNot published | not published | |
| Lease rate | not published | |
| Maintenance cost | not published | |
| Residual value after 5 years | not published | |
| Toll and CO₂ classEU CO₂ class 5 = zero-emission | not published | |
| IAA Transportation 2026Not a premiere. Volvo's heavy electric range (FH, FM, FMX Electric and FH Aero Electric) received the International Truck of the Year 2027 award at the show on the evening of 14 September | Hall 11, Stand D09; on Volvo's stand and also one of the seven trucks for test drives, next to the FH Electric, FL Electric and the extended-range FH Aero Electric | ↗ ↗ ↗ ↗ |
Company 2 / 3
Where these figures come from
- IAA Transportation newsroom, 30 July 2026: Volvo Trucks Showcases New Drivelines and Truck Generations at IAA TRANSPORTATION 2026
- Volvo Trucks: Volvo FM Electric (product page with specifications)
- Volvo Trucks, 14 April 2026: Volvo launches new electric trucks – with ranges up to 700 km
- Volvo Trucks, 1 July 2026: Volvo Trucks at IAA 2026: New drivelines and technologies show the way forward for customers and the transport industry
- Volvo Trucks, 14 September 2026: Volvo starts series production of electric trucks with up to 700 km range
- Volvo Trucks, 15 September 2026: Volvo Trucks electric range wins “International Truck of the Year 2027” award
- electrive, 16 April 2026: Volvo Trucks unveils its new generation of electric HGVs (Cora Werwitzke)
- electrive, 11 June 2026: Volvo Trucks boosts net battery capacity to record level (Cora Werwitzke)
- IAA Transportation 2026: press conference line-up, 14–15 September (Volvo Trucks: Hall 11, D09)
- Volvo Trucks on this site (IAA 2026 maker sheet)
- Volvo Trucks Deutschland: Volvo FM Electric (product page with specifications)
Other more electric trucks